A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court – Review

Dear Mr.Twain,

I’m sorry to disturb you. I know you must be super busy, even for a dead dude. I do apologize for the interruption, but you see, the Pear Avenue Theatre has adapted one of your books into a play and I thought you should see about going. They might even comp you a ticket for you and a guest. I know there’s that whole dead thing. I’m not going to lie, it could be an obstacle. I just figure if I can write you a letter and it actually gets to you, then you can maybe find a way to get to a play.

As a writer myself I know one of life’s great perks is seeing your words and ideas interpreted in a different way, and this production of A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court was fun and full of your genius from start to finish.  You see Sam, oh, can I call you Sam? No? Okay, sorry, my bad. You see Mr. Twain, what they’ve done is take your genius words and clever plot and staged it in such a way that every aspect is a metaphor, like an homage to the very style you perfected. Sarcastic, sometimes subtle, satirical, politely condescending, humorous, thoughtful, educated, it was all there. Somewhere between play and audio book the result was an unexpected surprise.

Like your writing it is both simple and complex at the same time. The space, the set, the wonderful use of props and costumes, all affective and appropriate to you tongue and cheek prose. The actors were fantastic and they carried the comic portions off equally as well as the darker more political commentary of the piece. Sincere and committed (in the good way mind you). And, once the audience got a feel for the style, they were all over it. Uh, that means that were following along and totally digging it.

I can’t do it justice here. It’s ridiculous and borderline offensive to try, really. You’ll just have to go see it for yourself. And maybe review it yourself. I promise its worth raising from the dead for. Honest.

Me? The best I can do is give it 4 1/2 crown jewels out of 5. Which I did. Just now.

Sincerely,

The Princess of Artsalot

About Artsalot

Your personal Princess, spreading her love of the Silicon Valley Arts and Culture Kingdom! Your former Princess of Artsopolis, welcomes you to Artsalot!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

