Edit This – The Art of the Mash Up

There are many far more schooled in the history of music than I. This is hard fact. But, my awareness of the evolution of my own relationship to music has always been a bit more pronounced than most of my friends. The number of songs that I can remember where I was (and what I was wearing in many cases) when I first heard them is probably above average, and the meaning and influence of songs, the sheer musical impact they have in my life is probably also not “normal” especially for someone with very little ability to do anything but just appreciate music.

In particular the reinterpretation, borrowing and mixing of songs has always been of particular interest to me. From the first time I heard an artist do a cover song, (1988 Erasure, River Deep Mountain High, I kid you not) to the first sampling I was exposed to via Vanilla Ice, to falling in love with the art of the mashup upon first hearing Boulevard of Broken Songs, the love affair was immediate. Like the art of finding the right quote for any situation rather than creating one’s own original verbiage, I’m a huge fan of being able to connect different music together through a beat, a lyric or a chord progression. I think it’s absolutely brilliant. Add in the additional skill of film editing and you get a dynamic, layered, and even more entertaining result.

Now, take this little mashup which has been making its rounds on the internet for a while now. I dare you not to smile when you watch this. LL Cool J and Dexy’s Midnight Runners are two great tastes that taste great together!
 

  
And what’s not to love about Ghostbusters and ACDC? I mean you have to love this. Seriously. You have to.
 

 
Mixing Vintage Queen with Weezer and Joan Jett might be a bit unorthodox, but the novelty alone is worth a watch!
 

   
And why stop at just a couple of songs when you can have a Billboard top 25 Mashup?
   

   
And all this got me to thinking, with the available resources in my own community, I can have my own fun, cutting, slicing, and all those other editing terms. I don’t need the software, I don’t neet a computer even, taking a class is as easy as becoming a member of CreaTV and signing up for a class. And just like that, I can start taking those hours of cat video and creating mash ups videos of The Pussycat Dolls and Josie and the Pussycats… or, perhaps I’ll choose a less feline-centric first project. =]

About Artsalot

Your personal Princess, spreading her love of the Silicon Valley Arts and Culture Kingdom! Your former Princess of Artsopolis, welcomes you to Artsalot!
This entry was posted in Royal Appreciation, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

