REVIEW – Priscilla Queen of the Desert – Broadway San Jose

At first, I was afraid, I was petrified
I thought Priscilla might just be a show to brush aside
But then I spent so many nights at Broadway San Jose before
And I’d been pleased, so why should this show be a bore

So I went back, for opening night
I just walked in, big lipstick tube, smack center stage,  just felt so right
I should have known you would be rad
I should have known you’d hit the spot
Why’d I not know that dudes in glitter gowns and heels were bloody hot

Go on now, go, go see this show,
If you like glam now, you’ll leave the theater wanting mo’
Okay that last rhyme there, it bordered on the lame
It’s not my fault now, my Aussie accent is to blame

Oh, I won’t lie, 3 out of 5
A little long, a little loud, but such great songs and sung well live
With such clever use of lights, wigs and lashes, out of sight
3 of 5, 3 out of 5, hey, hey

It took all the strength they had to hit each lofty note
A trio nailed them all while wires kept them all afloat

And I spent so much of the night, just feeling that the cast weren’t great
Well that’s a lie, I’m jealous of their gorgeous thighs

And then that bus, so grandiose
it’s not exactly like the movie, but it’s awfully close.
A little love, a little hurt and quite a lot of snark and wit
It plays through Sunday get your tickets, have a drink before you sit

Go on now, go, go see this show
If you like disco, you’ll leave the theater all a glow
Think Mama Mia’s kitsch fun-factor with more flame
A bit more tucking, tape, lots of glitter and no shame

Oh, I won’t lie, 3 out of 5
Flamboyant yes why even try deny the fact this show is gay
Should you have a night to play, it’s worth the price that you will pay
3 of 5, 3 out of 5, ooohhhh

Go on now, go, go see this show
To see the schedule, get tickets you can click right here….

About Artsalot

Your personal Princess, spreading her love of the Silicon Valley Arts and Culture Kingdom! Your former Princess of Artsopolis, welcomes you to Artsalot!
This entry was posted in Review Castle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to REVIEW – Priscilla Queen of the Desert – Broadway San Jose

  1. Anonymous says:

    The sound was a lot better last night… I thought it was kind of deafening where I was sitting on Opening Night. I guess they were trying to err on the side of being too LOUD than too soft, but I found it a bit obnoxious. REALLY enjoying this most OUTRAGEOUS and COLORFUL show of all time! Drag on steroids and some very tender moments as well… :0)

Leave a Reply

